Eat your gulay

Let's go veg in the Philippines

Meet Flera

I love plants. But getting them indoors without making them wither is almost impossible.  I tried to buy those 3 for P100 mini potted plants but after a few days, they’re gone. I guess putting them on my table is not a good solution after all.

On a recent trip to one of the largest malls here in Manila, it’s been ages since I’ve been to one. I stumbled upon this lovely and enticing store or should I say outlet. The name is Miura and they sell indoor and hydro culture plants.  It seems that the store is calling me so without any further ado, I found myself asking and asking for these little beauties cutely potted in those little ceramics. I waited for my cousin, who like me, is very much interested to get one. We looked and looked for every corner, stand and layers to find the perfect little buddy for our tables. I found mine and he found his.

Ladies and gents, meet my flera. Yes, flera is her name.

my table companion

I named it like that so that I will remember that it is somehow related to her scientific name being Schefflera arboricola or the Dwarf Umbrella Tree. Not bad for the price of P150.  The plant is soilless except those pebbles that I think is a substitute and can live with very little water.  Very little dirt and housed in those pastel colored ceramics. I think they have a branch in those major malls so you can’t miss them. They have lots of plants and you can’t miss finding the right plant for you.

The challenge now is to see how long flera will last. I heard that some have their indoor plants for almost a year. I hope flera, my mini tree will and maybe longer. With some tender, loving care, I know that we will come a long way.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Meet Flera

  1. Where is this MIURA? I only started appreciating plants when I arrived here in Canada (since they can only appreciate their gardens like 1/2 of the year). But i am sure to bring this love for plant when I go back home to the Philippines. I know my mom would love to go to this store of your.
    And oh, I have this umbrella plant too. aren’t they just lovely?!

    • Hi, I think it’s only available here in the Philippines. You can check their multiply site :) I agree with you, they’re sooo adorable. take care.

  2. oh, and My plant’s name is “Dirty Finger” because it looks like one of our tropical plants back in the Philippines named “Five Fingers” :)

  3. aylavet! you named your plant!
    ive always wanted to have a plant in my office desk.. concern ko lang baka hindi mabuhay..

    • hi chyng! cge bili kana. tubig lang at konting araw solve na! hindi ko na ata kaya mag travel blog kaya eto nalang. Salamat sa pagbisita! :)

i'm all ears

