Eat your gulay

Let's go veg in the Philippines

Meatless Monday

I started this blog on a Monday and on the first day of the month. I feel that if you want to keep a hobby or do something on a daily basis, you have to start on a Monday. I don’t know the science behind that but it works for me.

Since I am forever meatless, I just named this entry Meatless Monday to give honor to those vegetarians or non-veg doing this advocacy. My recipe is C2 in coconut milk. Why C2 or what is C2? I just made that up actually and it’s Cabbage and Carrots combined :) ain’t I creative?!? Enough of my self-flattery. Here’s my appetizing dinner.

cabbage and carrots in coconut milk.

A very simple meal yet very healthy. I first tasted this meal when we visited Phnom Penh in Cambodia. A restaurant by the name of Apsara is serving a veggie meal for $2.50. Since we are on a budget, we tried this meal and we loved it. I have yet to copy what they serve us there but this is just my local version.

Ingredients:

1 whole cabbage – chopped,  2 whole carrots – cut into long thin strips,   5 or 6 cloves of garlic – minced,  1 large onions – chopped,  1 cup of coconut milk (the first squeeze),  1 tbsp of butter for sauté, half block tofu – diced and deep-fried for toppings,  pinch of salt and pepper to taste.

How to cook:

I use olive oil (when I have some stock) to fry garlic and onions but for this one I used butter.  So on a heated pan, put the 1 tbsp of butter on low fire. Saute the garlic until golden brown and add the onions.  For onions, I try to sauté them until they are shiny because I read somewhere that when you do that to onions, they tend to taste sweet. :) Once done, add the carrots and make sure not to make it soggy and the finally, add the cabbage. Stir-fry the veggies and add the coconut milk for the last part. You can add water if you want to add some sauce or just the coconut milk to make it richer. Put some salt and pepper to taste. Make sure not too salty. Bring it to a boil and once the coconut milk begins to thicken, that’s a sign for me that the coconut milk is all done. You can put the fried tofu on top or you can add it separately after serving.  Viola! Enjoy your simple dish. I would say I was able to serve this for 4 so feel free to change if you feel like serving it to a larger number or to a smaller one.

Happy eating! :)

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Meatless Monday

  1. That looks yummy!! I have friends from Cambodia. They cook some of the best food EVER. Do you have a recipe that you can post for this? Would love to try it.

  2. This looks really good! I love dishes with coconut milk, and this is so simple too.

  3. Thanks for the update. Your Meatless Monday might become my Terrific Tuesday dinner. :)

i'm all ears

